Parent Resources

 

 

Suggested Summer Reading Lists

Our summer suggested reading lists for Pre-K3 through 8th grade are a collaborative labor of love between the Library, Library Committee, and the Spanish, French, and English departments.

Past Suggested Summer Reading Lists

2020 English Suggested Summer Reading List via Greenlight

2020 Spanish Suggested Summer Reading List via ¡Chau, Luna!

2019 English Suggested Summer Reading List: Grades N-5th 

2019 French Suggested Summer Reading List via Albertine

2018 English Suggested Summer Reading List

2018 English Suggested Summer Reading List: Middle School

2017 English Suggested Summer Reading List

2017 French Suggested Summer Reading List

2017 Spanish Suggested Summer Reading List

 

Audiobooks

Audiobook Recommendations in all three ISB languages with links to ISB’s Sora collection, public library collections, and more. Compiled by members of the ISB Library Committee.

 

Podcasts

Recommended Podcasts for Children that you and your family will love listening to together, in all three ISB languages! Compiled by members of the ISB Library Committee.

Bookstores

Some fantastic bookshops and online stores for literature in French, Spanish and English.

Multilingual

Books of Wonder booksofwonder.com

Cafe Con Libros cafeconlibrosbk.com

Community Bookstore communitybookstore.net

Greenlight greenlightbookstore.com

Hexagramm Books hexagrammbooks.com

McNally Jackson mcnallyjackson.com

Word Bookstore wordbookstores.com

French

Albertine albertine.com

Babelio www.babelio.com

Bonjour Books https://bonjourbooksdc.com/

Cufay cufay.fr

Fnac https://livre.fnac.com/s19/Livre-Jeunesse#bl=ACLivreARBO

Gallimard Montreal https://www.gallimardmontreal.com/catalogue/jeunesse/albums

La Librairie Des Enfants lalibrairiedesenfants.nyc

Lectures de France https://lecturesdefrance.com/

Rue du Monde ruedumonde.fr

SLPJ+ https://slpjplus.fr/pepites/liste/bonnes-lectures-livre-illustre/

Spanish 

Books Del Sur https://booksdelsur.org/

Boolino boolino.es/es/

Casa del Libro casadellibro.com

Chau Luna! chauluna.com

Cinco Books cincobooks.com/

La Liberia la-libreria.net

Latin American Bookstore, Inc. latambooks.com/

Lectorum lectorum.com/esp

Lorito Books loritobooks.com

Fluffy Books fluffybooksonline.com

 

Book Lists and Other Resources

Multilingual

Translation is an Art Resource List

Bank Street Children’s Book Committee

Children’s Book Council cbcdiversity.com The CBC Diversity list reflects the Children’s Book Council’s commitment to promoting diverse voices in literature for young people.

Children’s Literature and Reading: Notable Books for a Global Society clrsig.org Book list selection of the Notable Books for a Global Society Committee of the Children’s Literature and Reading Special Interest Group (CL/R SIG)

First Nations firstnations.org Native American Children’s Literature Recommended Reading List

ISB’s American Indians / Indigenous Peoples / Native Nations Resource List Contains links to recommended titles, booklists, awards, and digital resources. 

LEA Book Distributors leabooks.com

Lee & Low 2021 Diverse Reading List Pre-K through 8th Grade

Multicultural Books for Younger Children bankstreet.edu

Reading Is Fundamental Booklist rif.org

Reading Is Fundamental Read-Aloud Videos rif.org

Teaching for Change Book Store tfcbooks.org

We Are Kid Lit Collective https://wtpsite.wordpress.com/

We Need Diverse Books diversebooks.org

French

Centre Pompidou centrepompidou.fr

Des Livres Pour Jeunesse deslivrespourlajeunesse.fr

French Lists and Recommendations from ISB’s Library Committee, Spring 2021

Les Enfants du Bruit et de l’Odeur – Adolescents lesenfantsdubruitetdelodeur.com/categories/Livres-pour-adolescent.e.s?cat=1

Les Enfants du Bruit et de l’Odeur – Enfants lesenfantsdubruitetdelodeur.com/categories/Livres-pour-enfants?cat=2and

Films por enfants films-pour-enfants.com

La Joie Parle Livres  lajoieparleslivres.bnf.fr

Le Prix Saint-Exupéry prixsaintexupery.fr/

Les Petit Bouquins lespetitsbouquins.com

Les Petit Livres lespetitslivres.com

Lireka: La Librarie Universelle https://www.lireka.com/fr

Livralire livralire.org

Livre Enfant livre-enfant.com

Mistikrak https://mistikrak.ca/

Ricochet Jeunes ricochet-jeunes.org

Spanish

Antú Librería de Familias libreriadefamilias.com.ar/

Canticos: Latino Nursery Rhymes: canticosworld.com

Centro de Estudios de Promocion de la Lectura y Lectura y Literatura Infantil cepli.uclm.es

Club Peques Lectores clubpequeslectores.com

Cuatrogatos cuatrogatos.org

Cuento De Luz cuentodeluz.com/cart.html

Klub Rico clubkirico.com

Planeta de Libros planetadelibros.com

Read Conmigo Read Conmigo

 

Quality Publishing Houses

Ediciones Ekaré ekare.com

Enchanted Lion Enchanted Lion Books

Flying Eye flyingeyebooks.com

Ecole des Loisirs ecoledesloisirs.fr

Lee and Low leeandlow.com

Pequeno Editor pequenoeditor.com

Syncretic Press syncreticpress.com

Translation is an Art

by Regan Penaluna, ISB Library Committee Member On Wednesday, April 27th, a crowd of students, parents, and staff gathered in the school gym for a panel discussion on “Translation is an Art”—an impressive event dreamed up and led by school librarians Maria Falgoust and Amy Ribakove. The walls were adorned with posters created by the

Books to Read Aloud to Your Lower School Child

Below is a selection of great books to read aloud with your primary school children recommended by the ISB Community, in no specific order but organized by language. Members of the Library Committee and others were asked to recommend a book and share what they love about it. Most of the books listed below are meant to be enjoyed primarily as hard copies, especially when the illustrations are outstanding, but we have tried to make a note when a recording (podcast or audiobook) is available to supplement the experience. Recordings will be useful to ISB parents who do not speak the target language, or to those in need of a short break.

Middle School Reading Recommendations and Tips for New Language Learners

By Raquel Frechette, ISB parent and Library Committee Member, with support from Language Acquisition Teachers, Emilie Berger and Oscar Pau   Picture this: You’re a 6th Grade ISB student. Maybe you’re new to the school and brand new to learning a second language. Or maybe you’re not new, and you’ve been at ISB since your

VIEW ALL NEWS